
 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 
 

SAGUACHE COUNTY CONSTRUCTION PERMIT INFORMATION 
 

The fee are as follows: 

0 to 500 square feet is $60.00 

501 to 3000 square feet is $0.11/square foot + $60.00 Admin Fee 

3001 sq. ft. to 6000 sq. ft. is $0.10/square foot + $60.00 Admin Fee 

6001 sq. ft. to 10,000 sq. ft. is $0.09/square foot + $60.00 Admin Fee 

Any construction permit that is built over 10,000 sq. ft. and above will be $0.08/square foot + $60.00 Admin Fee 

Accuracy of square footage is important.  Square footage will be reviewed by the Saguache County 
Assessor’s office at the time of appraisal.  Any structures with square footage over 25% of that permitted 
will be billed for the excess amount owed plus penalty.  To avoid penalty if your plans change to include 
a larger structure after your permit is issued, contact the Land Use office to modify your permit.  
Beginning construction or moving a structure on to property without first purchasing a permit will have an 
administrative fine of double the amount of your permit added to your permit fee.  Any application that is 
incomplete will be returned to the landowner. 
 
A sketch plan showing all improvements already existing on property and any new structures to be 
constructed, showing footage from all side of parcel must be attached to your permit. 
 
The State of Colorado and the County of Saguache have certain requirements which must be met when 
constructing buildings intended for human occupancy.  The purpose of these requirements is to protect 
the health, safety and welfare of the occupants and any person who might enter these structures. 
 
Any dwelling in the State of Colorado must be serviced with an adequate sewage disposal system.  This 
may take the form of a central sewage system or an Onsite Waste Water Treatment System (OWWTS).  
These systems must be permitted and inspected by the County prior to any occupancy. 
 
At the completion of construction, applicant must supply Saguache County Land Use office with copies 
of approved State plumbing, gas, and electric permits, if required.  Permits will remain incomplete until 
these copies are supplied. 
 
There shall be a minimum setback of ten (10) feet from all property lines except where a public road 
easement exists, and then there shall be a minimum of twenty five (25) feet from the edge of said 
easement. 
 
Wells may only be drilled by State Licensed Contractors.  Permits are obtained through the Colorado 
Division of Water Resources. 
 
In Saguache County any manufactured housing brought into or relocated within the County must meet 
requirements of the National Manufactured Housing Construction and Safety Act of 1974, 42 USC 
Section 5401, et, seq., (commonly known as the HUD act.) or an equivalent code.  Any structure older 
than 20 years must first be given County approval before it can be placed on any property or brought 
into Saguache County. 
 
A County Road address must be obtained before your Construction Permit can be issued.  
Contact the Saguache County Land Use office for a property address at 719-655-2321 and 
Saguache County Road and Bridge for a drive way access permit at 719-655-2554. 
 

                                                           
 
 
 



 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 
 

     PERMIT NUMBER _____________________________ 
      PARCEL NUMBER _____________________________ 
      DATE PERMIT SENT    ______/______/________ 

 
SAGUACHE COUNTY LAND USE OFFICE 
CONSTRUCTION PERMIT APPLICATION 

PO Box 326 
Saguache, CO 81149 

719-655-2321 
 

The Saguache County Board of Commissioners adopted Article XIII of the Saguache 
County Land Use Development Code March 6, 1997.  This article requires that any 
structure must be permitted by the County (this also includes manufactured housing). The 
applicant is responsible for all other permits required under Colorado State Law.  Beginning 
construction or moving a structure on to property without first purchasing a permit will have 
an administrative fine double the amount of Construction Permit added to your permit fee.  
Violation of this ordinance can and will constitute a penalty of not more than $600.00. 

FEE -  
0 to 500 square feet is $60.00 

501 to 3000 square feet is $0.11/square foot + $60.00 Admin Fee 

3001 sq. ft. to 6000 sq. ft. is $0.10/square foot + $60.00 Admin Fee 

6001 sq. ft. to 10,000 sq. ft. is $0.09/square foot + $60.00 Admin Fee 

Any construction permit that is built over 10,000 sq. ft. and above will be $0.08/square foot + $60.00 Admin Fee 

 
TYPE OF CONSTRUCTION: 
 _____ NEW RESIDENTIAL   _____ MOBILE/MODULAR 
 _____ ACCESSORY    _____ EXPANSION 
 
LANDOWNER  ______________________________ PHONE  ______________________ 
APPLICANT (if different from Landowner)  ______________________________________ 
PHONE NUMBER _________________________________________________________ 
 
MAILING ADDRESS OF OWNER/APPLICANT  
________________________________________________________________________ 
 
LEGAL DESCRIPTION OF LAND (application incomplete if blank)  
________________________________________________________________________ 
 
STREET ADDRESS (building site)  _________________________CITY  _____________ 
 
TOTAL ACREAGE AMOUNT OF PARCEL TO BE BUILT ON _______________________ 
 
TOTAL AMOUNT OF STRUCTURES EXISTING ON PROPERTY ___________________ 
 
TOTAL AMOUNT OF RESIDENCES EXISTING ON PROPERTY ____________________ 

APPROXIMATE START DATE ____________ APPROXIMATE END DATE____________ 



 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

ESTIMATED COST OF PROJECT $_____________________ 
 
CONSTRUCTION TYPE ____________________________________________________ 

Residence: sq. ft. ___________    Mobile/Modular sq. ft. ___________ 

Addition sq. ft. _____________    Accessory sq. ft. _______________    
 
ACCURACY OF SQUARE FOOTAGE IS IMPORTANT.  SQUARE FOOTAGE WILL BE REVIEWED BY 
THE SAGUACHE COUNTY ASSESSOR’S OFFICE AT THE TIME OF APPRAISAL, ANY STRUCTURES 
WITH SQUARE FOOTAGE OVER 25% OF THAT PERMITTED WILL BE BILLED FOR THE EXCESS 
AMOUNT OWNED PLUS PENALTY. 

  

R-Values   Material Used  Interior 

 Floor  _______  Floor  _____________ Amt. of Bedrooms ________ 

 Walls  _______  Walls  _____________ Amt. Of Bathrooms ________ 

 Ceiling _______  Roof ____________ 

 

 Heating Type  _____________________  Bldg. Height ________________ 
 

MANUFACTURED HOUSING/MOBILE HOMES INFORMATION 
YEAR __________ MAKE ___________________ VIN # ________________________ 
HUD ___________ CO. DOH _________________ CERTIFICATE # _______________ 

  

SEWAGE DISPOSAL SYSTEM PERMIT # AND YEAR ISSUED _____________________ 

WELL PERMIT # __________________________________________________________ 

 

APPROXIMATE START DATE _________/_________/_________ 

 

APPROXIMATE END DATE __________/__________/__________ 
 
 
A sketch plan showing all improvements already existing on property and any new 
structures to be constructed, showing footage from all sides of the parcel must be 
attached to your permit. 
 
 
IF YOU ARE PLANNING TO CREATE A DRIVE WAY OFF OF ANY COUNTY ROAD 
YOU MUST CONTACT THE SAGUACHE COUNTY ROAD AND BRIDGE DEPARTMENT 
BEFORE INSTALLATION. 
 
ALL CONSTRUCTION PERMITS ARE NOT FINAL UNTIL COPIES OF YOUR 
APPROVED COLORADO STATE PLUMBING & GAS PERMIT AND COLORADO 
STATE ELECTRICAL PERMITS HAVE BEEN RECEIVED IN THIS OFFICE. 
 
 



 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 
 

APPLICANTS NEED TO BE AWARE THAT BY SIGNING THIS APPLICATION YOU ARE 
GIVING THE SAGUACHE COUNTY LAND USE OFFICE STAFF PERMISSION TO 
ACCESS YOUR PROPERTY FOR PURPOSES RELATING TO THIS APPLICATION. 
 
ALL PERMIT FEES PAID ARE NON-FUNDABLE 
 
______________________________________________   
OWNER/APPLICANT 
 
______________________________________________ 
DATE 
 
_________________________________________  ________________________ 
APPLICATION RECEIVED BY    DATE 

 
The State of Colorado and the County of Saguache have certain requirements which 
must be met when constructing buildings intended for human occupancy.  The 
purpose of these requirements is to protect the health, safety and welfare of the 
occupants and any person who might enter these structures. 
 
In addition certain structures may require inspections, below are numbers you may need: 
 
Saguache County Assessor  719-655-2521 
Saguache County Road and Bridge 719-655-2554 
Plumbing and Gas    Andy Medina 855-454-0067 
Electrical     Rod Paulson (303)869-3450 
Septic Permits    Land Use (719)655-2321 
State Water Resources   San Luis Valley (719)589-6683 
      Gunnison Valley (970)249-6622 
State Multiple Dwelling Inspector   (303) 249-6622 
 
Colorado Division of Housing   (303)866-2033 
 
Colorado Manufactured Housing Association (303)832-2022 

 
I hereby certify that I have received the above telephone numbers so I will be able to apply 
for any additional permits that may be needed to meet the health, safety and welfare of the 
occupants and any person(s) who might enter these structures. 
 
_____________________________________ 
Landowner (s) 
 
________________________________________ 
Applicant if different than landowner 
 
________________________________________   _______________________ 
Land Use Representative      Date 



 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 
 

ARTICLE XIII 

CONSTRUCTION PERMIT 

 

XIII.1.  General Provisions 
 

The Board of County Commissioners recognizes the need to protect the public while maintaining an 

environment that encourages the development of diverse structure styles and methods. It is also 

understood that it is in the best interest of the county as a whole to preserve a diverse economic 

structure in which all residents can obtain suitable housing. 

 

XIII.2.  Purpose 
 

These regulations are designed and enacted for the purpose of protecting the health, safety and 

welfare of present and future inhabitants of Saguache County, Colorado, by insuring that all new 

structures and dwellings conform to current State electrical, plumbing, gas and sewage regulations. 

 

XIII.3.   Authority 
 

The authority to establish the following regulations is provided for, without exclusion, in Article 20 

of Title 29 C.R.S., Local Government Land Use Control Enabling Act, and Article 28 of Title 30 

C.R.S., County Planning and Building Codes. 

 

XIII.4.   Application 
 

This article shall apply to residential structures or dwellings constructed  within the unincorporated 

areas within the County. It shall also apply to all types of manufactured housing, including mobile 

homes, brought into the County from other counties or states, or relocated within the County after 

the date of its adoption. 

 

In addition, this article applies to barns, storage facilities or other  structures, which are NOT 

intended for human occupancy. 

 

Construction permits expire two years from the date of issue.  If construction is not completed within 

the two-year time limit you may request one (1) extension for a six (6) month period.  Any extension 

must be presented to the Board of County Commissioners for approval.  Pictures must be supplied 

for extension to show progress. 

 

XIII.4.1 Applications for permits shall include the following: 

 

XIII.4.1.1. A non-refundable application fee to cover the cost of processing. 

XIII.4.1.2. Proof of ownership of the land on which the structure is to be located, or a letter from 

the owner acknowledging their approval of the structure's placement. 

 

XIII.4.1.3. Copy of the Individual Sewage Disposal System Permit, if required. 

 

XIII.4.1.4. A copy of water well permit, water court decree or other agreement providing for 



 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 
 

water service, if required. 

 

XIII.4.1.5. A physical address from the Saguache County Assessor’s office.  A County Road 

access permit may also be required from the Saguache County Road and Bridge 

Department. 

 

XIII.4.1.6. At the completion of construction applicant must supply Saguache County Land Use 

office with copies of approved State plumbing, gas and electric permits, if required.  

Permits will remain incomplete until these copies are supplied. 

  

It is encouraged that all electrical utility lines be placed underground. 

 

XIII.4.1.7. A sketch plan showing all improvements already existing on property and new 

structures to be constructed, showing footage from all sides of parcel.  Also, sketch 

plan must show all access roads used to access parcel to be built on. 

 

XIII.4.1.8. There shall be a minimum setback of ten (10) feet from all property lines except 

where a public road easement exists, and then there shall be a minimum of twenty 

five (25) feet from the edge of said easement. 

 

XIII.4.1.8.1 Setback shall be determined by the foot print of the structure. 

 

This will also include any subdivision lots that are in existence as of the date of this regulation. 

 

XIII.4.1.9. Outdoor lighting is to be directed downward and shielded.  High or low-pressure 

sodium bulbs may be a maximum of 100 watts.  Mercury vapor lamps are prohibited.  

Mast mounted lights must be kept to a minimum number and a maximum height of 

twenty-two (22) feet. 

 

XIII.4.1.9.1.  If electrical service has been abandoned for (1) year or more all-outdoor lighting must 

conform to State Electrical Standards. 

 

XIII.4.1.10. In addition, any person intending to place a ''Mobile Home'' within the County shall 

show proof of the following with the application for a Mobile Home permit. 

XIII.4.1.10.1. A copy of the manufactured home tax certification indicating ownership and 

point of origin. A certificate of VIN registration that shows the year and make 

shall also be included. 

 

XIII.4.1.10.2.  A photograph of the structure as a whole and a legible photograph of the HUD 

sticker and/or other suitable documentation indicating compliance with the 

National Manufactured Housing Construction and Safety Act of 1974, 42 

U.S.C. Section 5401, et. seq., as amended, (commonly known as the HUD 

Act, effective June, 1976).  No mobile home shall be transported into or 

maintained within Saguache County, which does not comply with state 

standards as promulgated by the Division of Housing.  Mobile home must 

meet 1976 HUD Standards.  



 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

XIII.4.1.10.3.  Any structure older than twenty (20) years and larger than two hundred (200) 

square foot may not be transported into Saguache County.  Any structure 

legally in place in Saguache County at the time this regulation is adopted may 

remain in its current position indefinitely.  If the structure is moved, it must be 

moved out of Saguache County.  

 

If structure is not twenty (20) years old this regulation does  not apply.  Is structure is not larger than 

two hundred (200) square foot this regulation does not apply. 

 

XIII.4.1.10.3.1. Before any structure older than twenty (20) years may be moved in the 

Saguache County, the County must approve a Variance application 

and a Building Permit application.  See Article VIII of the Saguache 

County Land Development Code for Variance regulation. 

 

XIII.4.1.10.3.2.  Variance application must include a photograph of the structure as a 

whole and a legible photograph of the HUD sticker and/or other 

suitable documentation indicating compliance with the National 

Manufactured Housing Construction and Safety Act of 1974, 42 

U.S.C. Section 5401, et.seg., as amended (commonly known as the 

HUD Act, effective, June, 1976). 

 

XIII.4.1.10.4. Adequate sewage, existing and ready to connect into before any mobile home 

can be occupied on property. 

 

XIII.4.1.10.5. A copy of well permit, water court decree or other agreement providing for 

water service. 

 

XIII.4.1.10.6. In addition mobile home shall be placed on permanent foundation or tied and 

anchored down. 

 

XIII.4.1.10.7. In addition skirting must be attached within 45 days of placement of mobile 

home. 

 

XIII.4.1.10.8. No reflective surfaces except glass may be used. 

 

XIII.4.1.10.9. Any Recreational Vehicle or Vehicle to be used as a permanent residence 

shall follow all mobile home regulations. 

 

It is encouraged that all skirting coordinate with the mobile home in color.  All exterior colors are 

encouraged to be muted earth tones, which blend with the immediate environment. 

 

It is encouraged that no tires or cement blocks be placed on roof of mobile home. 

 

XIII.5.  Mobile Home for Storage within the County 
 



 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 
 

XIII.5.1.   All plumbing fixtures will be removed, and the Land Use Administrator or designated 

agent will inspect said structure to insure all fixtures are removed. 

 

XIII.5.2.   All Mobile Homes for storage must have the electrical wiring brought up to HUD 

standards and a copy of the inspection attached to the building permit, or if the mobile 

home will not have electricity all of the electrical wiring will be removed, and the 

Land Use Administrator or designated agent will inspect said structure to insure all 

wiring is removed. 

 

XIII.5.3.   All Mobile Homes for storage must be placed on a permanent foundation, such as a 

concrete slab or stem wall. 

 

XIII.6.  Permitting 
 

Before beginning the construction for any structure, and before moving a manufactured housing unit 

onto any property located in Saguache County, the Land Use Office must issue a permit. 

 

XIII.6.1. Permits 

 

Permits will be processed upon the receipt of a completed permit application along with the required 

fee. Incomplete applications will not be accepted for processing. 

 

XIII.6.2. Posting 

 

A copy of the permit shall be posted on the front of the structure, or upon a post or board in a 

location visible from the road. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 
 

ARTICLE XIX 

RIGHT TO RANCH AND FARM 

 

XIX.1.  Purpose 
 

The Board of County Commissioners of Saguache County, Colorado has the policy of protecting the 

viability and recognizing the importance of farming, ranching and other agricultural activities in the 

county. The changing nature of land use and demography in the county has increased the potential of 

conflicts between agricultural operations and rural residents and visitors to Saguache County. 

 

It is desirable to protect agricultural operators from complaints about legal and non-negligent 

agricultural operations and activities. Furthermore, it is desirable to educate the public and 

nonagricultural residents and visitors to the county about the existence, value, and importance of the 

county's agricultural operations and activities. 

 

XIX.2.  Conflicts 
 

Examples of such conflicts include, but are not limited to, harassment of livestock and livestock 

losses due to free roaming dogs; trespass by livestock; movement of livestock and machinery on 

highways and county roads, gates inappropriately left open or shut; chemical applications; 

complaints regarding noise, dust, and odor; weed and pest control; trespass. 

 

XIX.3.  Authority 
 

Pursuant to Article 3.5, Title 35, Colorado Revised Statutes, it is the declared policy of the State of 

Colorado to conserve, protect. and encourage the development and improvement of agricultural 

lands for the production of food and other agricultural products. The Colorado General Assembly 

has also recognized that when nonagricultural land uses extend into agricultural areas, agricultural 

operations often become the subject of nuisance litigation and that a number of agricultural 

operations have been forced to cease operations and many others are discouraged from making 

investments in farm operation as the result of such lawsuits. The State has also stated that the 

purpose of Article 3.5 is to reduce the loss to the State of Colorado of its agricultural resources by 

limiting the circumstances under which agricultural operations may be deemed to be a nuisance. 

 

In addition, pursuant to Section 35-3.5-102(1), C.R.S., an agricultural operation is neither, nor shall 

it become, a public or private nuisance by any change in conditions in or about the locality of such 

operation after it has been in operation more than one year, provided that it was not a nuisance at the 

time the operation began, and also provided that it is not a negligent operation and that a change in a 

operation or substantial increase of the size of operation does not result in a private or public 

nuisance. 

XIX.4.  Policy Statement 
 

The policy of the Board regarding potential conflicts between agricultural and nonagricultural 

residents and visitors to rural Saguache County is set out as follows. 

 

XIX.4.1. RIGHT TO FARM COVENANT 



 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

Saguache County is one of the most productive agricultural Counties in the United States. The rural 

areas of Saguache County may be open and spacious, but they are intensively used for agriculture. 

Persons moving into a rural area must recognize there are drawbacks, including conflicts with long-

standing agricultural practices and a lower level of services than in town. 

 

Agricultural users of the land are not expected to change their long-established agricultural practices 

to accommodate the intrusions of urban users into a rural area. Well-run agricultural activities will 

generate off-site impacts, including noise from tractors and equipment; dust from animal pens, field 

work, harvest and gravel roads; odor from animal confinement, silage, and manure; smoke from 

ditch burning; flies and mosquitoes; the use of pesticides and fertilizers in the fields, including the 

use of aerial spraying. Ditches and reservoirs cannot simply be moved ''out of the way'' of residential 

development without threatening the efficient delivery of irrigation to fields which is essential to 

farm production. 

 

Saguache County covers a land area of 3146 square miles, with approximately 900 miles of county-

maintained roads. The sheer magnitude of the area to be served stretches available resources. Law 

enforcement is based on responses to complaints more than on patrols of the county and the 

distances which must be traveled may delay all emergency responses, including law enforcement, 

ambulance, and fire. Volunteers who must leave their jobs and families to respond to emergencies 

usually provide fire protection. County gravel roads, no matter how often they are bladed will not 

provide the same kind of surface expected from a paved road. Snow removal priorities mean that 

roads from subdivisions to arterials may not be cleared for several days after a major snowstorm. 

Snow removal from school bus routes has first priority. Snow removal for roads within subdivisions 

is of the lowest priority for public works or may be the private responsibility of the homeowners. 

Services in new areas, in many cases, will not be equivalent to municipal services. 

 

Children are exposed to different hazards in the county than in an urban or suburban setting. Farm 

equipment and oil field equipment, ponds and irrigation ditches, electrical power for pumps and 

center-pivot operations, high-speed traffic, sand burrs, puncture vines, territorial farm dogs, and 

livestock present real threats to children. Controlling children's activities is important, not only for 

their safety, but also for the protection of the farmer's livelihood. 

 

Parents and guardians must be responsible for their children.  

 

XIX.5.  Public Education and Information Campaign 
 

The Board shall use county staff to support efforts to educate and inform the public of the Right to 

Farm Policy. Such efforts shall include dissemination of written information and oral presentations 

to community associations and organizations; creation of signs for roadways in Saguache County; 

preparation and distribution of press releases relating to the Right to Farm Policy; sponsoring tours 

and events; supporting the publication and distribution of “A Guide to Rural Living in Saguache 

County” to be prepared by Saguache County; and other similar activities.  

 

XIX.5.1. Property owner notification 

 



 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 
 

The Board shall notify owners of land within the County by the following means:  

 

XIX.5.1.1. A one-time mailing to owners of record of land within Saguache County of the above 

policy statement. The copy of the policy statement shall accompany the Tax Notices 

mailed to the owners of record of all real properly in Saguache County for the 1997 tax 

year. 

 

XIX.5.1.2. Whenever a subdivision, subdivision exemption, variance, or other official action of the 

Board of County Commissioners or the Saguache County Board of Adjustment, which 

will result in additional residential lots being created, the applicant shall be required to 

provide any purchasers of such lots a copy of the policy. The receipt of such policy and 

the policy shall be recorded with the Saguache County Clerk and Recorder as an 

addendum to any recorded deed or other transfer of such property. The form for the 

receipt is given in Appendix F. 

 

XIX.5.1.3. Whenever a construction permit is issued for new construction in the unincorporated area 

of Saguache County, the Land Use Office shall provide a copy of the policy to the 

applicant. As a condition of the construction permit, the applicant shall sign the receipt 

and statement of understanding, which shall be maintained by the Land Use Office in the 

applicant's file. 

 

XIX.5.1.3. The Board shall encourage real estate brokers doing business in Saguache County to 

voluntarily disclose the policy to purchasers of real property within the county. To that 

effect, the Board shall provide information to Realtors and other professionals to explain 

the policy, and distribute copies of the policy. 


